Calculating Return on Investment (ROI)
ROI = Total Revenue/Total Cost x 100%
Total Revenue is defined as the anticipated sum of gross invoicing off the equipment over a specified period of time (typically two to five years on digital flatbed presses).
Total Cost is the anticipated sum of all overhead, depreciation, operating and consumable cost to produce the sellable output off the equipment over the same period of time as used in the total revenue calculation.
The key to calculating an accurate ROI is to have as full an understanding of the operating costs as possible. This means you must have an in-depth understanding of the following:
- The real throughput/output capability of the equipment
- The actual operating cost of the equipment
- The applied cost of ink and consumables
- Residual value of the equipment
- Understanding your current business plans and growth assumptions
ROI Demonstration Proof Point:
In order for you to gain an accurate understanding of these cost aspects, you should put each digital press you are considering through a comprehensive demonstration. NOTE: The ROI models on some websites may use generic and overly optimistic estimates on print speeds and estimated selling price of output. While many of these models enable you to update numbers, without the information collected from a well-managed demonstration of the equipment, your assumptions may paint a better picture than reality..
Please complete all information below